Our Road Trip this takes us just north of Gardens Corner, SC to explore the 260 year old cemetery and ruins of the Old Sheldon Church (The Prince William Parish Church).
This is one of the Lowcountry′s most historic and a beautiful churches. Today, all that stands of the old church are four brick columns and the exterior brick walls containing arched windows and doors. A monument to the hardships of warfare that this state has experienced over its 300-year history, the cemetery contains the graves of those brave men who stood for freedom and independence.
Originally built between 1745 - 1757, (believed to be 1748) of brick and tabby. The church was destroyed in May of 1779 by British troops under the command of General Augustine Provost, rebuilt in During the Revolution, the Patriots are believed to have stored gun powder in it. In 1779, when the British General Augustine Prevost invaded the Lowcountry, the church was burned by a detachment which according to tradition, was commanded by the flamboyant local Tory, Andrew Deveaux. Rebuilt in 1826, and subsequently burned again in 1865 by General William Tecumseh Sherman′s troops.
This inspiring property is covered with ancient live oaks drapped with Spanish moss, dogwoods, magnolias and hollies. The original cemetery still remains with graves dating as far back as the late 1700′s. (This is a National Register of Historic Places site)
The site is located between the Town of Yemesse and Gardens Corner, on the Old Sheldon Church Road which has a canopy of trees, mysterious and magnificent. The intersection of Highway 17 and Highway 21 is Gardens Corner. Be sure to spend some time in the rich history of Beaufort and other find locations through out the Lowcountry.
This information was compiled from various sources found on the internet.
The Penn Center - est. 1861, the nation′s most significant African-American education center. This is where Martin Luther King, Jr. began his "I Have a Dream" speech.Located on St. Helena Island, near Beaufort, South Carolina.
Mitchelville - the first freed Negro township.
St. Helena sites - home to the roots of African-American history.
Gullah Heritage Trail - Hilton Head Island.
Ibile Indigo House - a working studio where visitors learn the tradition of West African indigo-dye processes and products.
Zion Chapel of Ease - Hilton Head's oldest cemetery.
Queen Chapel AME Church - established in 1860 as a "praise house" for Pope Plantation slaves.
Parris Island Marine Corps Recruit Depot Museum, located on Parris Island, near Port Royal, South Carolina.
(We take every precaution to ensure these links are family safe. However, clicking on these links takes you off of this web site, and we are not responsible for the content they provide.)
Durning the Civil War, General Sherman was commanded by president Lincoln to burn down all of the south. But when he saw Beaufort, he couldn′t burn it because of it′s beauty, so it was spared.
The Beaufort County Historic Society is the oldest association in Beaufort county dedicated to the study and preservation of history.
Beaufort County Historical Society
PO Box 55
Beaufort, SC 29901
Telephone: (843) 671-4865